Each spring the Center for the Study of Southern Culture gives the Eudora Welty Award for Creative Writing to two Mississippi high school students for short stories or poetry written during the previous year. First place carries an award of $500, and second place an award of $250.

Schools may submit one entry in each category. Faculty from the University of Mississippi judge the entries and select the winners. The awards are presented during the University’s Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha Conference in July. Winners are notified at least a month prior to the conference.

The 2019 winners are:
1st Place: Helen Peng, Mississippi School for Math and Science in Columbus 
2nd Place: Chloe Russell, Mississippi School for the Arts in Brookhaven 

Click link on right to see a list of previous winners.



Fill out the online submission form below or download a submission form and email the completed form to Rebecca Lauck Cleary – rebeccac@go.olemiss.edu.

Your Name *

Your Email *

Student's Name *

Student's Email *

Street Address *

Town *

Zip *

Student Phone

Type of Entry *

Title *

School Name *

School Address *

Town *


School Email *

School District*

School Principal or other contact person*


Download and fill out the submission form and send it to:

Eudora Welty Awards for Creative Writing
Center for the Study of Southern Culture
University of Mississippi
P.O. Box 1848
University, MS 38677