University of Mississippi

Faculty

The Southern Studies Program consists of a core group of faculty from several disciplines, including anthropology, art, history, and English. They work with their home departments but also with Southern Studies, teaching courses, directing internships, and supervising Master of Arts theses. In addition, faculty who teach courses related to the South in various departments work in conjunction with the program, and students have the opportunity to work with a wide range of scholars.

CORE FACULTY

Barbara Combs Assistant Professor of Sociology and Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-3605
E-mail: bcombs@olemiss.edu
Office: 306 Leavell

Simone Delerme McMullan Assistant Professor of Southern Studies and Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Phone: 662-915-7421
E-mail: sdelerme@olemiss.edu
Office: 103 Leavell

Darren Grem Assistant Professor of History and Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-7148
E-mail: degrem@olemiss.edu
Office: Bishop Hall

Adam Gussow Associate Professor of English and Southern Studies, Undergraduate Student Advisor
Phone: 662-915-7333
E-mail: agussow@olemiss.edu
Office: C213 Bondurant Hall

Andy Harper Director of the Southern Documentary Project and an Instructional Assistant Professor of Southern Studies and Journalism
Phone: 662-915-1503
E-mail: acharper@olemiss.edu
Office: 239 Kinard Hall

Zac Henson Adjunct Assistant Professor Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-3368
E-mail: zfhenson@olemiss.edu
Office: Barnard Observatory

Katie McKee Associate Professor of English and McMullan Associate Professor of Southern Studies, Graduate Student Advisor
Phone: 662-915-5993
E-mail: kmckee@olemiss.edu
Office: 216 Barnard Observatory

Ted Ownby Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture, Professor of History and Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-5993
E-mail: hsownby@olemiss.edu
Office: 209 Barnard Observatory

Jodi Skipper Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Sociology, and Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-3468
E-mail: jskippe1@olemiss.edu
Office: 311 Leavell

David Wharton Director of Documentary Studies, Assistant Professor of Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-5993
E-mail: dwharton@olemiss.edu
Office: 217 Barnard Observatory

Charles Reagan Wilson Kelly Gene Cook, Sr. Chair of History, Professor of Southern Studies
Phone: 662-915-7148
E-mail: crwilson@olemiss.edu
Office: 316 Bishop Hall

ASSOCIATED FACULTY

Deirdre Cooper-Owens, History
Phone: 662-915-6976
E-mail: dbowen@olemiss.edu
Office: 307 Bishop

Betty J. Crouther, Art
Phone: 662-915-7647
E-mail: arpate@olemiss.edu
Office: 301 Old Chemistry

Leigh Ann Duck, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7684
E-mail: lduck@olemiss.edu
Office: C217 Bondurant

Charles W. Eagles, History
Phone: 662-915-7733
E-mail: eagles@olemiss.edu
Office: 321 Bishop Hall

Benjamin F. Fisher IV, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7672
E-mail: bfisher@olemiss.edu
Office: C130 Bondurant

Robbie Ethridge, Anthropology
Phone: 662-915-7317
E-mail: rethridg@olemiss.edu
Office: 103 Leavell

Janet Ford, Anthropology and Sociology
Phone: 662-915-7340
E-mail: saford@olemiss.edu
Office: 109 Leavell

Susan Glisson, William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation
Phone: 662-915-6727
E-mail: glisson@olemiss.edu
Office: 102 Vardaman Hall

Jeff Jackson, Anthropology and Sociology
Phone: 662-915-5230
E-mail: jacksonj@olemiss.edu
Office: 205 Leavell

Kirk Johnson, Sociology
Phone: 662-915-5977
E-mail: sajay@olemiss.edu
Office: 305 Longstreet

Donald M. Kartiganer, Literature
Phone: 662-915-5793
E-mail: dkartiga@olemiss.edu
Office: W209B Bondurant

Marvin King, Political Science
Phone: 662-915-5408
E-mail: marvin@olemiss.edu
Office: 325 Deupree

Colby H. Kullman, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7050
E-mail: egcolby@olemiss.edu
Office: C214B Bondurant

Jon Moen, Economics
Phone: 662-915-5467
E-mail: jmoen@olemiss.edu
Office: 367 Holman

Michael V. Namorato, History
Phone: 662-915-7488
E-mail: hsmvn@olemiss.edu
Office: 314 Bishop Hall

John R. Neff, History
Phone: 662-915-3969
E-mail: jneff@olemiss.edu
Office: 322 Bishop

Elizabeth Payne, History
Phone: 662-915-7148
E-mail: epayne@olemiss.edu
Office: 320 Bishop

Charles K. Ross, History and African American Studies
Phone: 662-915-5978
E-mail: cross@olemiss.edu
Office: 309 Longstreet

D. Warren Steel, Music
Phone: 662-915-5183
E-mail: mudws@olemiss.edu
Office: 315 Barr

Annette Trefzer, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7685
E-mail: atrefzer@olemiss.edu
Office: C132 Bondurant

Anne S. Twitty, History
Phone: 662-915-5360
E-mail: atwitty@olemiss.edu
Office: 303 Bishop

Jay Watson, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7671
E-mail: jwatson@olemiss.edu
Office: C211 Bondurant

Curtis Wilkie, Journalism
Phone: 662-915-1707
E-mail: cwilkie@olemiss.edu
Office: 227 Farley

Ethel Young-Minor, Literature
Phone: 662-915-7688
E-mail: eyoungmi@olemiss.edu
Office: W208 Bondurant